The Reef Tank banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to the lfs a few days ago and got a pretty little turbo snail. I've noticed on it's shell there is coraline algae, will it spread to the tank or should I scrape it off and snail and add it around my tank? I'm a newbie with live rock so thanks for any input.

Oh and sorry for my noob-ness.

·
Registered
105 Posts
If you have live rock you will get coraline it just takes time. But yea, the coraline on the snail will spread even if left on his shell. But you said you have live rock. Normally when you receive live rock it looks like there is no coraline. It will come back and you will be wanting less instead of more.

·
Lost At Sea
1,505 Posts
First, no need to feel noobish. We were all beginners and in ways all still learn.

I'd leave the algae on the shell. During the course of his travels, he'll likely rub and brush the shell against your rocks helping to seed that way. If you buy a piece of LR that has good growth, scrape that off in the tank.

However, you may not see much growth until your tank has cycled and matured a little as the expected algae and possible cyano blooms will outcompete the growing coralline

·
Registered
1,831 Posts
First, no need to feel noobish. We were all beginners and in ways all still learn.

I'd leave the algae on the shell. During the course of his travels, he'll likely rub and brush the shell against your rocks helping to seed that way. If you buy a piece of LR that has good growth, scrape that off in the tank.

However, you may not see much growth until your tank has cycled and matured a little as the expected algae and possible cyano blooms will outcompete the growing coralline
+1

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

My tank is cycled, I just recently got cured live rock (I've always had base rock) but have had fish in it for about 2 or 3 years. The tank is a 15 gallon.