The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 1971 Posts

·
Just some guy, you know?
22,684 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

I'm really excited about setting up a SW tank again and I figured now was the best time to setup a build thread!!

I work in IT and LOVE electronic gadgets, so this will be a high tech build.

My wife has been very supportive of this and there is one thing that is very important if I'm going to continue to enjoy that support. The tank must be quiet. If you have any tips for sound proofing I would love to hear them.

I plan to put a back on the stand, use oversized drains, and a slow (ish) sump flow to ensure it is as quiet as possible. I will also pick up quiet computer fans, and stay away from large external pumps.

So far this is the equipment I have:
75G Tank, Stand, Hood. Currently FW, will be torn down next weekend.
(anyone in the San Diego Area want some awesome driftwood, plants and fish?)
APEX controller, with PH probe
Full CO2 system with 3 tanks, will be put aside for now, but used whenever I get SPS and a CA reactor.
4x54W Tek T5 retro kit with one regular ballast and one dimming ballast.

I am seconds away on clicking "Pay Now" on an order for:
1 Tunze 6105 (May need 2 eventually)
Various plumbing parts
2 ATI True atinic bulbs
2 ATI Coral Plus bulbs
the cable to hook the Tunze to my Apex.

The plan:
Simple really, I will drill the 75G tank for 2, 1.5" drains, use elbows to drain the water from the tank like I did with my old 50G. This means no tank space wasted with an overflow. The overflow will be only 200-300 GPH so I anticipate skimming the water's surface fairly well with this, and each drain will handle the flow with no problem providing good redundancy.

I will have a sump of 20-40 gallons (not sure yet), the water will drain right down to the skimmer, there will be either a fuge, or a bubble separation/settling area (not decided yet) then the sump will be on the end.