384 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what have the rest of you done to cut costs in your electric bill

my roommate and I are struggling to keep a budgetable bill with our tanks

any suggestions?

·
Registered
290 Posts
Being an electrician I tapped off the neighbors pole ;) Shhhhhhhh.

Serious though I dont know if there is much ya can do. Find out what type of light your guys need and give them that, dont over light? Keep the room cool so the chiller doesnt go on much? Replace old gear.

It's an expence that sadly goes with the program.

·
ROOTS...ROCKS...REGGAE
1,215 Posts
There are a few of things you can do but most have to be done when buying and setting up the tank. For example, return pumps. Not all are made the same. Some, like the bigger MAG pumps are energy hogs. I have a MAG 12 that uses as much electricity as my Dolphin that moves 3 x the water.
Another energy hog that most people don't think about is the skimmer. Many are using high gph(high wattage=$$) pumps to drive the skimmer. Since a skimmer runs 24/7 this can add up. I went with a needle wheel skimmer that uses 2 -35 watt pumps instead of a skimmer that requires 10X plus that.

·
Registered
134 Posts
Solartube

Somebody here uses solar tubes (skylights) as a replacement for MH, this could reduce your bill. Especially if you factor in replacement bulb cost. Probably have to supplement to create optimal color, but worth a search.

·
Registered
384 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
yeah, we dont' have to pay for water

but thanks for the suggestions so far, I've cut all of my tanks down to an 8 hour photoperiod, 6 for the MH

·
Registered
585 Posts