The Reef Tank banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This might be a stupid question but I'm new to this so please forgive me. When you do a water change how do you get the new saltwater back into your tank. I think I read somewhere about using a return pump of some sort but not sure. I know you people with big tanks have to use something as cupping it back in isn't going to work. I have a 26 gallon so I don't need something super big to go from my 5 gallon bucket back to the tank. Do they sell a return pump with hosing or something?

·
Aquatic Philosopher
15,434 Posts
Often the hose and the pump are sold individually.

You can use a pump to pump new water from the reservoir into the tank, you could pour water from the bucket if you want, or I use 1/2 or 1g pitcher... mostly because I do smaller volumes daily.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No I don't have a sump. So you would need to take the pump with you when looking for hosing to make sure it fits the end. I have one like what was listed up top for mixing my saltwater. I'll have to find hosing. I didn't want to just pour it in figure it would make a mess. But my water changes wouldn't be to big that pitcher-it-ing it in wouldn't be bad.

Thanks!!! :)

·
Registered
3,775 Posts
I use the hose off of my siphon and unscrewed the out put part of my power head and bought a 1/2 inch barbed/male end 90 plumbing fitting its a gray plastic screw the 90 into my powerhead take the hose off of my siphon put it onto the barb part of the fitting put the power head in the bucket plug it in and let it go watch out for back flow when you turn it off the water will come back into the tank of you don't take hose out of tank the petco 250 gph power head is what I use and any other powerhead may be different sizes

·
Chasing Stability
9,244 Posts
^