The Reef Tank banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had a Tuxedo Urchin for about a month+ now and Just this past week it stopped moving as much and this morning it has lost all his spines. They are just in a pile all around him. Is he dead, should I pull it out. Or do they shed the spines. I had a big algae problem, that's why I got him and now it is very under control, my snails look hungry too. I don't know if he starved, but I never saw him eat any coraline either. Please advise....

·
Registered
7 Posts
A quick google search led me to another fish site where folks were talking about that very thing happening. It was said that if the spines fall off the urchin is most likely dying and should be immediately removed to a hospital tank where lots of food is offered if you wish to try to rehabilitate, but also says that euthanization via freezing may be more appropriate. I am by no means an expert but that is what I found with a quick google search.

I hope it turns out well for you.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Get it out