The Reef Tank banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Just some guy, you know?
22,649 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

Thought this might be a fun discussion. With my 135 I've been running triton for a few months now. What makes this different from normal 2 part, is that it's supposed to contain all the trace elements in real sea water, and supposedly if you use the system and do their mail in water tests you can get away without doing any water changes.

I have decided to continue with the fairly modest 20% water changes monthly with Tropic Marine salt, but I really like that the trace elements are supplemented unlike other methods.

So far I've had great success, my coral growth is fast, and the consistency from mix to mix is great leading to better stability, but I've found a few other unexpected benefits. The first one is my PH stability! In the past I've used outside skimmer air intake, baked baking soda, Kalk, and other things to try and maintain PH and fight the CO2 impact from my CA reactor and indoor air, but it's super nice that my PH is now naturally 8.1-8.3. The method itself has a slight PH raising effect, but avoiding the PH depression is a super big help too. I also really like the consistency of the solution. It is super nice with the dosing pumps that it's pretty set and forget. I test ALK weekly and adjust dosing up fairly regularly due to coral growth, and new corals taking up more minerals, but day to day the numbers stay really close. Unlike daily dosing or weekly, the DOS pumps are dosing a couple drops every 15 min, plus it's so concentrated that my 1L dosing containers last over a month.

What do you think? Have you ever tried this? Do you like it? Did you stick with it? Or did you find something that worked better for you? I'm open to all discussion around element dosing!
Whiskey

·
Shark..but a friendly one
15,036 Posts