The Reef Tank banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello again to everyone. I need your help and advice as I'm still learning much about corals. I got a leather toadstool coral about 2 weeks ago. It looked fine for several days then closed up and didn't reopen about 3 days ago. I've heard this is normal and it may shed, however my concern is that it is now forming these white looking dots or patches on it, kind of like a calcium deposit...is this bad?

·
Banned
2,995 Posts
nope- are you clicking manage attachments and uploading the image?
I'd do it for you, but I don't have my laptop with me and I couldn't resize the image if that's what it needs.

·
Crazed Fish Whisperer
2,611 Posts
Mine has done that and been fine. In my toadstool the white spots were actually part of the polyp slightly emerged. It might be getting ready for a big slime.

What are your tank conditions? temp? salinity? pH? Nitrates? Ammonia? water flow? lighting? Welcome to TRT! :)

·
Banned
2,995 Posts
It does not look happy. Tell us everything about your tank. What is your water testing at? Are you adding anything to you tank? How are you doing tank maintenance?

These corals do look bad sometimes and bounce right back.

·
feet/ankles/fish
330 Posts
I think a big issue with softies like the leather corals is carbonate hardness, or KH. I had the same issue with my devil's hand for a while and that is when I switched to using RODI water and testing KH.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·