The Reef Tank banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm Ron. I just recently got into this hobby. I had a 30g tank about 18 years ago but things have really changed. I thought I was starting the easy way- I bought an already established setup. But I'm not sure if that was best. Because now I'm a newb with a bunch of stuff to learn about lol. If I had done it all 1 piece at a time I would have known exactly what i have :). Anyway I did save some cash-- and thats always nice. Now I just have to do a lot of learning, and change my setup I bought to "my" setup.
I bought a seaclear system2 50g setup-I thought it would be the way to go with all the filtration built in. I was wrong--just makes it harder to upgrade. Then the day after I bought it a guy called me back about a 110g setup he had for sale. But I had already bought a tank :(. Well, anyhow he was moving and really needed to get rid of it, so I tried my best but the wife said no lol. I did decide to buy a ro-di from him though. So we go to get it and his tank was really nice. The wife says "I wish we had saw this one first" lol my thinking exactly. Then he started offering it to us at lower prices....but wife still said no. Then he offers to sell us everything in his tank for less than I was fixing to pay for my live rock. Wife says" for everything inside?" He said yes. She said ok. lol. I didnt even have to beg.
Then while I was looking over the tank, it hit me--all this wont fit in my 50g tank. So, he says well, I have a complete 30g setup you can have for Free. I couldnt say no to that.
Saturday morning I leave my house at 530am with an empty 50g tank. Sunday morning around 430 I finnaly go to bed with a fully stocked 50g tank, and a decently stocked 30g tank. Sunday evening I get up and stare at my new tanks for hours--like a kid at Christmas. Later that night I think "oh chit , what have I gotten myself into.