The Reef Tank banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
To Boldly Reef ...
1,694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I just finished hooking up my PhosBan 150. I'm running it with about 20 grams of media in it. I figure this should be a good safe amount to start with based on discussions I've read here at TRT. The directions recommend 1g/gallon. This works out to 240g given my total system volume with the 180 display and sump. The max recommend amount to run per reactor is 200g. So I took 1/4 of the recommeded which worked out to be 50 grams and then it cut that to 20g.

I have sps so I really wanted to be careful.

My experiment is that I have been maintaining 0 levels of PO4 and NO3 on tests for the past 3 months. I regulary siphon excess detritus (2 times a month) with my 30 gallon water change, and have been keeping the Ca at 420 with an alk of ~ 3.2 . My skimmer pulls about 3 - 4 gallons of green tea colored skimmate per week. With all of this, I still have alot of "brownish" sps. I had a purple monti that was very purple when I got it and now it looks more brown - purple than purple. I first tried better lighting by changing out my 10k and 14k hamilton tech 250W MH for 3 10k XM 250's. The result was better growth, but no change in color.

I have 0 hair or other nusiance algae that I can see, but I do clean the front glass of green film algae every 2-3 days.

After reading more here at TRT about how your PO4 test kits can read 0 but you still can have enough PO4 in the water column to affect sps coloration that I decided to hook up a Posban reactor and see if that made any difference.

Of course my null hypothisis has always been I am completely ignorant of coral color and I just have alot of brown sps that looks green under vho's. The only thing against this is the purple monti that now looks brown, so he is the one I am watching.

·
To Boldly Reef ...
1,694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·