The Reef Tank banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
I just added salt to my new 55g I am figuring it is best to test spec. gravity after it is all dissolved? i tested it a little while after i added the saly(salt-tdw edit) and i read high? any thoughts sorry for the ignorance i am new to reefing.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no nothing in the tank. its new. it was reading higher than it is now it is at 1.028 i am using a instant ocean hydrometer.

·
Registered
3,787 Posts
no nothing in the tank. its new. it was reading higher than it is now it is at 1.028 i am using a instant ocean hydrometer.
If your planning a reef I would trash the Hydrometer (Very inaccurate) and invest in a refractometer ($50.bucks) . Well worth it and a VERY important part of Reef Keeping .
At any rate . Add some RO?DI or Distilled water to bring the salinity down to 1.025-26 . If it's full take water out and add accordingly
http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_viewi..._campaign=mdcsegooglebase2&utm_content=MD2101

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok will do. another question i just added agronite should i leave all pumps off until it settles or keep some water moving?

·
Registered
36 Posts
Yea the refractometer is the way forward, what they didn't tell me in the LFS that you need to calibrate the refractometer each time you use it. To do this run tap water over it, adjust it to 0.0 then dry and use in your tank

·
Registered
36 Posts
i check the calibration every time, just be safe, the initial LFS calibrated it for me and told me that would be the only time id need to do it :( my gravity got a little crazy but i didnt realise until i found a better LFS and the helped me see the truth and now its all perfect

·
CONSTANTLY LEARNING
1,598 Posts
Once a week I clean my hydrometers by sitting them in white vinegar overnight. Rinse well and good to go again.