The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
7,425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone;
As I'm sure most of you know I'm new to reef keeping and Ive been having problems with my nitrates.:angry: I've removed all my bio balls sponges and pre filters. Ive done water changes every week for the last 3 weeks I've cut the feeding of my fish back to every other day. I'm hoping my nitrates will soon start to drop. I have checked them in the last week because I promised myself I would wait at lest 3 more weeks to see if they drop. I know most of you use revers osmosis water and I would love to have a ro unit but can't afford one at this time. Upgrading to MH and buying a new skimmer has put a bent in my budget . While at the lfs the salesman told me about "tap water filters" he said they are the poor mans ro unit.
Have any of you used them? Are they any good? Or should I just hold off until I can get a ro unit?
I have a 150 gallon 20 gallon sump lr ls and corlife skimmer.

·
Super Moderator
10,750 Posts
Hold off! The filters in those don't last long without the other filters that an RO unit has. They are expensive to replace as often as you will have to.

·
Super Moderator
10,750 Posts
I think I got less than 50 gallons (about 1 month) out of mine, whereas my RO unit last a little longer than 6 months without changing filters.

My Tap Water Filter is sitting in my basement collecting dust.

·
Registered
7,425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok so big diffrence. I could prob buy a ro unit for what I would spend in filters. I thought there had to be a catch.

·
Premium Member
5,051 Posts