The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi! I just started this hobby and i was wondering weather i should invest in rodi water or just use tap water, or would it even matter?

·
Premium Member
26,466 Posts

·
Registered
624 Posts
It depends on your specific tap water and what type of tank you have and your intentions with it.
Your average tap water is not the devil that most people make it, but it's close. When you get into a reef with high intensity lighting RODI water is much much better.

·
Registered
4,652 Posts
BS.

Never even consider tap water no matter where you live.
I am a water treatment plant supervisor and operator by profession with over 35 years experience and while I would not hesitate to drink tap water anywhere in the US I would never even think about putting it in a reef system.

You want consistency and you will not find that out of the tap, too many variables over which you have zero control. Its not just the treatment plant you have to woory about but the pumping, transmission and distribution systems too. All it takes is one broken main down the street, or a backflow incident to wipe out your tank and you wouldn't even know why. Its not worth the risk.

If you are serious about the hobby, do it right the first time and you never look back.

·
Novel Responder
4,371 Posts
BS.

Never even consider tap water no matter where you live.
I am a water treatment plant supervisor and operator by profession with over 35 years experience and while I would not hesitate to drink tap water anywhere in the US I would never even think about putting it in a reef system.