The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:bawling: My new tank crashed on the weekend. I bought an established system recently and took 90% of the original water with me. Everything was doing great, water parameters were fine. I went camping on Saturday came home Sunday and the water was cloudy and most of the corals were dead. Checked the parms and the ammonia levels were 4ppm, they were 0ppm when I left Saturday. Changed half the water last night in hopes of saving some of the last bits of coral but this morning everything was bleached. Also lost 2 damsels and my clown. Hoping the local LFS can take my 4 tangs while I stabilize the water. Very devastating for me as I am relatively new to the hobby.

·
Tang Lover
7,326 Posts
also very sorry to hear about this. I know how bad this must suck. Try to hang in there...

Do you have ANY idea what caused this? What was the temp? This time of year, lots of tanks have temp problems.

What was the substrate? Did you transfer the substrate with you? If it was a sand-bed...moving from the prior owners location to yours can cause problems.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The temp was a constant 80 degrees, I know a little high. The substrate is sand and it was moved. Could this be the cause of the problem, I have no clue why the ammonia just shot up like that.

And thanks everyone for your support. Last night I was contemplating packing it in but my wife told me to hang in there. This morning I'm getting the will to rebuild again instead of calling it quits.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The sand was stirred up quite a bit during the move.

Also could there have been a chain reaction when some of the less hardy stuff died creating more ammonia?

·
Tang Lover
7,326 Posts
how DEEP was the sand-bed? if it was much more than an inch or two...this definitely could be the cause.