The Reef Tank banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
2,520 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am at a cross road with lighting. First my tank size 72”L X 24”H X 18”w
Occupants mostly fish, anemones, will be getting low maintenance corals.

Heat is very important, -Question: I’m wondering what puts off less heat 8, 3’ 96w VHO with ballast out of room or two 250w MH also with remote ballasts?
Remember I’m asking about heat. I’ll adjust color after….

Thanks for your help…
:cool:

·
Registered
49 Posts
I have very little experience with VHO bulbs but I do know that with two metal halide bulbs, your heat will be concentrated around the two bulbs only, which would make it easier to transfer that heat away from the tank. It would also expand the corals that you could keep. I have two 55 watt pc lights that I believe puts off just as much heat as my 175 metal halide bulb. I was having an issue with heat until I installed two Orion fans in my hood. One fan blowing in and one fan blowing out. Now my temp remains constant all day. I do have more evaporation but that is fine. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
I have 2 48" vho tubes 110W. They do get warm but not as hot as halides. Mine are 8" above the water on an open system and I see no temp change in my water, unless my house gets over 80 degrees (I am bad about letting that happen). Personally if you are going low light corals (like my self) I believe vho to be your best bet. You only need Halides with stony corals and clams. Your only problem will be anemones. In my 55 gallon I have zoo's, mushrooms, a mushroom anemone and plenty of xenia. I have had bad luck with star polyps but I don't know what was going on with that, it wasn't my lighting though. As far as evaporation rate, I have an open tank so I loose about 1 quart a day I think. I do agree with Braincoral39 Power compacts do get pretty warm. But I can actually touch my vhos right now and they have been on for about 8 hours........

Hope that helps
Hesstondc

·