The Reef Tank banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this and in the research phase of setting up my first reef tank. Is there a rule of thumb to use on the size of the sump tank? ie should be half the size of the display tank etc? also are there companyies that sell prefabed sump tanks?

·
Registered
7,938 Posts
I don't know if there is a rule of thumb on sumps, if for no other reason than the fact that there have been success stories on a wide range of sizes. I use a 55 gallon tank as a sump for my 180, which is about 30% of the size of the show tank. In general, try to use the biggest sump you can (increase water volume = increased stability= GOOD).

You may want to look at a regular tank as a sump, versus the prefab, but that is just my personal preference. :)

Good luck, and a w000000000000t! for you for doing research first! :thumbup:

·
Registered
5,232 Posts
Baffles and dividers are very important:

There stop bubbles from getting into your return pump so as not to create micro bubble issues and they help to keep water levels constant in certain compartments like one that houses the skimmer. Also the help to create a settling zone for detritus as well.

As for the size of the sump. The bigger the better. I have seen some with sumps as big as their display!

The more room the easier it is to clean and maintain and upgrade things if needed!

·
Registered
5,232 Posts
:blob: Welcome as well!:thumbup:

·
Administrator
34,435 Posts
Welcome to TRT!!!

:wavey: