The Reef Tank banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hellooo :)

Nice to meet you all, this is my first post.
So, recently (a week ago), after some consideration, I have bought the equipment I need to convert my 30g Fluval Roma into a saltwater aquarium. Decided to take the plunge after years and years of freshwater. I was wondering what you all think of the possible fish I have on my shortlist? And which ones you would keep, bearing in mind, I am very new to the saltwater side of things, but have kept tropical for 6 years now.

Here are my ideas:
*Ocellaris Clowns (Aware these must be in pairs)
*Bangaii Cardinal
*Lawnmower Blenny
*Firefish Goby
*Royal Gramma

Would really appreciate the help :)

-ICantReef

(Also, should this be FOWLR, or corals, I am quite keen for a reef :D )

Attachments

·
Registered
634 Posts
That looks like a solid list to me, but I'm not an as big of an expert as most on here(I'm still pretty new). The only thing that I would question, and someone else will need to chime is... Will the tank have enough stuff for the Blenny to pick at to survive?

There's also no reason you can't do a reef tank in a 30g.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The only thing that I would question, and someone else will need to chime is... Will the tank have enough stuff for the Blenny to pick at to survive?.
I think so, this tank somehow manages to accumulate huge amounts of algae, and I mean absolutely ridiculous amounts (Bulbs replaced, buying a timer - Young children leave lights on- and phosphate added so hopefully that helps), at least in fresh water set up. Saying all my preventative measures out loud makes me now question if I do in fact have enough algae. Would you recommend something different? Mainly for detritus, but algae too :)

-ICantReef

·
Registered
634 Posts