The Reef Tank banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
20,603 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all, i am going to be starting new (old) tank, it is a 90 oceanic tank with a trinkle system, i have not used it in sevearl years now. i plan on going with a nice reef for it. after reading about the use of sand and the pros and cons i was wondering what everyone thinks is the best substrate, i had used it as a fo a few years ago, it is clean ( no CU) i was thinking about a snowfake eel down the line to add to it. But that is still up in the air.
thanks
tims

·
Registered
314 Posts
Are you wanting to cycle your tank quickly or a regular cycle?

·
Registered
314 Posts
How about getting some live sand and using that?

·
Premium Member
20,603 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Live sand? i have never used sand before and was thinking about a small thin level for the base since i will be using the trinkle and bio balls, i still have a lot more reading to do yet, i am in no rush to get it up and running (fully stocked). after reading all of the DSB threads i am not sure if using sand or deep sand would be nice or just a head acke down the road.
tims

·
Registered
314 Posts
I've been doing this for a little over 5yrs now, I wouldn't use a deep sand bed, but I would use sand, it's more natural, you'll have algae out breaks, and you can't syphon the sand, but you can do other things to clean the sb, or keep a good clean up crew...it really depends on wether you like keeping up with your tank or you don't like doing alot of maintenance...

·
Premium Member
20,603 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
:beer:
great, i do like the look of sand for a base, i myself am a sort of keep a clean but dirty tank if you understand my meaning. i do like the look of algae and other nature growing things, but do not want things out of control or not seen.
thanks for your advice now and in the future. rest asure i will be picking your brain from time to time. thanks again.