The Reef Tank banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all -

I'm new to the reefing business but I have discovered (what seems to be) a decent aquarium at my LFS. It's called the AquaOne AquaReef 275. It's a 73 gallon tank and it comes with skimmer, heaters, etc. I have researched into it and have heard some rather disconcerting stories! Has anyone had any experience with it? What would be best to stock it with?

Thanks! :fish:

·
Premium Member
12,214 Posts
Welcome to The Reef Tank benjamin.

Does the tank come with any warranty? Do you trust your LFS personnel/saleman?

If you proceed with a start up of this tank or any other you settle on, you're 4-6 weeks away from adding any livestock. During that time, you'll have the TRT forum to learn, ask and comment.

You'll like it here @ TRT.

Welcome aboard.

·
Registered
7,602 Posts
Welcome to TRT Benjamin_hart!

Aquaone's seem to be only sold in Europe/UK and Australia. Another member is getting one, a 400 I think, in Australia I read. I downloaded the manual and from what I can tell it has a sump with skimmer, media filter (bio-balls), and pump included. I would remove the bio-balls and use live rock in the sump if I were you.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hey, thanks all for your replies.

pmarkj:

What would the benefit of live rock be instead of bioballs? I would have live rock in the aquarium itself. Also, if I was to have live rock in the sump, would I need lighting under the tank to encourage algae and "good" bacteria growth on the rock? Thanks :) :)

Geoff:
This is the stock-standard sump (without the protein skimmer) - http://www.thesaltybox.com/forum/at...be-brand-new-stoke-trent-st3-2ax-img_8234.jpg

Here is a picture of the whole tank - http://www.ultimatereef.net/uploader/2012Q3/DSC01620.jpg

Here is a picture of a "wet" tank - http://www.ultimatereef.net/uploader/2012Q2/IMG_0591_2.jpg