The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the whole reef tank system but have owned aquariums before so I am well aware of the maintenance involved with operating a reef tank. Currently I have NOT started cycling the water in the tank bc I am waiting for my ro/di system to arrive in the mail. My setup is a 40 gallon long tank with a 10 gallon sump. The sump is set up with a filter sock, a small refugium and protein skimmer. Currently I have about 50 lbs of base rock, about 40 lbs of base sand, and a 20 lb bag of live sand ( I am going to get about 10-20 lbs of live rock wen i can start cycling the water). As I mentioned I do not know a lot about what species are more likely to survive and how to go about stocking. Any advice would be appreciated. What is a good hearty starter fish and What are some easy to take care of coral to start with? Also, What should I put in the fuge?

·
Registered
506 Posts
You can't go wrong with peaceful clowns. As for coral, mushrooms are hardy. What lights are you thinking of getting?

·
Registered
912 Posts
There are many starter fish you could go with clowns are pretty easy cromis are too and for corals the easyist coral you can put in your tank i think is mushrooms they dont need to be feed and they dont need a ton of light

·
Registered
160 Posts
clowns and damsels are great....just take caution with damsels and maroon clowns as they tend to be territorial and aggressive.

·
life is BeAuTiFuL! <3
New 16g BioCube Gen 3, April 2021... back at the habit!
445 Posts
Hello and welcome!

I agree with ezera - damsels are great starters but it's hard to introduce other fish with them later, as they can be little jerks.
Gobies or blennies usually do well, too.