The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Addicted to water
1,011 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do they fare in tanks? Do they need iodine to molt or any other special requirements? Also, will they eat parasites (such as ich) off of fish? That could be helpful in the future if there is a problem. Thanks in advance.

~Kayla

·
Registered
5,816 Posts
I second what Lise has stated!! Great to watch the relationship between fish and invert!:)

·
Addicted to water
1,011 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Good! Are they pretty hardy, or can they be sensitive to swings in salinity, temp, etc? I'm a newbie so I'm tryining to keep everything as healthy as possible at the moment. Thanks

~Kayla

·
Registered
5,816 Posts
Kayla writes: Are they pretty hardy, or can they be sensitive to swings in salinity, temp, etc?
Yes Kayla they are quite hardy and don't think they are really sensitive to swings in salinity, temp, etc but like any tank you want to keep everything as stable as possible for the good health of your critters.;)

·
Registered
26 Posts
most of mine (four between two tanks) molt frequently, i have found if my maintenance scheduled water changes arent done they will moult with curly wiskers...so i now make sure the changes get done when they need to be.
I love ours, they come over when you clean algae, they scurry after flake foods and tidbits...and my yellow tang lays down for them to clean him sometimes. They are very fun to watch. Mine are quite large...and beautiful as they wave in the currents.
I think you will find them charming pets.

·
Registered
822 Posts
Are they compatible with Peppermint shrimps? I have several peppermints, but have also thought about getting a skunk if they well help with ick.

·
Registered
5,816 Posts
Alot of people say they help fish in prevention of Ick but then again there are alot of reasons why ick occurs but they do pick off parasites which can cause other diseases!