The Reef Tank banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im pretty new to the hobby,so im not sure what is good,and i need peoples opions to make sure im not getting ripped off..This guy is offering me his skimmer its a Precision marine hot-1..for 75$ 4mths old, i looked it up,and its retailed at 160.00,and sites say its pretty good,but i need opinions to make my decision..thanks

·
Registered
174 Posts
anecdotal tells me it is one of the best for the calibur skimmer it is.
it is more limited in it's abilties than i would want on say a 60g+ if you wish to keep it heavily stocked with corals.

what size tank are you installing it on?

·
Nemo's Chamber Boy
4,539 Posts
woot 60 gallon tank... i am in the market, sell it to me and buy yourself a 120!

i also hear it is a good skimmer, you might want to see what charles can put together, and i would also look at the remorah as another good skimmer in that volume range. do not waste your time on a prizm unless you get a good deal... i had 2 in a row that did not perform anywhere near my expectations.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
not sure on all the coral types i want to put in it,but i do want a good variety,and i havent got a sump goin yet, thats probably my last project...So i should get it then??

·
Registered
174 Posts
i think i would go with the remora pro if i were to buy that particular brand of hang on. but i plan to keep alot of slime makers. also a remora is spendy in comparison to the PM.

really for the price the PM is hard to beat. i don't have one but the quality in craftsmanship is said to be high and it is supposedly easy to clean which is a big complaint of mine with my excalibur. it is essentially the same thing, mine is just glued solid, the cup isn't keyholed, etc. (this = PM is far superior).