The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings fellow reefers!

Have a bit of a concern and I am hoping others here have had the same problem, as I have read on other forums of folks having this issue but no follow ups on how they corrected it. :help:

I have been battling a cyanobacteria (red slime) outbreak for a few months now. Fairly common for our hobby. It started off in my refugium and a few weeks ago moved into my DT. After painstakingly removing it every other day and increasing the flow in the tank, it would keep reappearing with a vengeance. I finally decided to do some research on how to get rid of the world's oldest living organism.

I found a product called 'UltraLife Red Slime Stain Remover' that had great reviews from many distributors on the internet. Here's the product on MarineDepot: http://www.marinedepot.com/Ultralif...r_Medications-Ultralife-UL1311-FIMERM-vi.html

Most of the reviews did note that it would decrease the oxygen levels in your tank as well as having a temporary impact on your skimmer. I have also read the ongoing debate on those who have used reef safe chemicals to get rid of this bacteria and then those who refused to dose anything and prefer to use other natural methods (such as turning off their lights for 3 days straight once a month to starve the bacteria). In frustration and just wanting the problem to get solved, I decided to try the product.