The Reef Tank banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 180 gal reef with an undersized skimmer. I also eventually want to add a 55 gal frag tank plumbed into the main tank. I am looking for advice on what type of skimmer is both functional and economical and possibly someone that is looking gto get rid of one via sale. I am not looking for a hand out but I'm not above taking one either.

Bill

·
Perfeshunal Hikk
8,887 Posts
Welcome to TRT. Look seriously at an MSX300 series skimmer. At roughly 500 dollars, its the best bang for the buck in that size and can grow with your system.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for welcoming me. I am new to the Society and have been reef keeping for about 15 mo. now. WOW 500 bucks, my wife would kill me. She'll be able to afford one with the life insurance though.

·
Perfeshunal Hikk
8,887 Posts
Whats on your tank now? Its possible you could go with a second smaller skimmer to make up the difference, depending on whats on it now.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Bill, take a look at one of the new Vertex skimmers there is a thread on reefcentral about them. My IN100 is a workhorse and always pulls out tons of gunk. You can find them here, for the price they are just as good as the MSX300 series skimmers. You can find them elsewhere on the net and they are very good skimmers, you can stop by my house and see my IN100 if you want just give me a call. BTW I have a frag of the Tubbs birdsnest for you as well...I accidently bumped it and broke a piece off. Here is one http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merc...OD&Product_Code=VX-IN180&Category_Code=Vertex.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
reply back