The Reef Tank banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, let me introduce myself.

Actually both my spouse, Mark, and I, Betsy, are joining KMAS. We hope to meet some of you at the Sept meeting.

We live in Glynn County and have gotten a 150 gal tank from someone who used to keep a reticulated eel. The short version of the story is that we are setting up a reef tank (the eel passed away). I am ordering books to read, using the forum, and happy to find KMAS.

I've used a picture of our tank with the stand made by our 20 yr old son in PROFILE. I have used a picture of the live sand, limited live rock, base rock, and salt water that is our current tank.

I know. It looks a bit stark.

Cycling. Working on my patience and cycling.

My spouse is a retired physician who is a bit of a renaissance man. I am a biologist and businesswoman who loves teaching, zoos, birding, and conservation. Our grown kids are a bit alarmed to hear that we are off to purchase "live rock", but we are happy to begin this new hobby. We have great hopes of taking the slow route to a lovely tank with coral and fish and who knows whatever else we might be able to keep alive.

We won't have much to offer in the beginning but give us a little time (and painful experience) and we'll kick into another level of participation. We are pleased to have found you and joined your group.

Betsy and Mark

·
Premium Member
1,291 Posts
Hey Betsy and Mark, welcome to KBMAS, I took the liberty of moving your thread so you don't get posts like the one above. We have a great group of people that are willing to help. Post away and don't be afraid to ask questions.

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for moving the posting to the correct thread, FishDude32 (Adam).

Looking forward to meeting you as well, Mrs. Puff (Kim).

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)
"Confession is good for the soul" or Hallucinations of a Novice