The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am new to the salt water community. Any advise would be greatly appreciated! :) I have had a lot of luck but lately I am having major trouble!

My tank: 55 gallon, 30 lbs live rock, 30 lbs sand/crushed coral, Marineland 400 hang on back filter, 750 gph powerhead

Fish: 1 clown 1 Damsel 5 crabs

I started off my tank with the damsel about 2 months ago. My tank cycled and levels were great. I got 2 clowns and a basset fish. I have done regular water changes, and changed the filter recently. My levels have always been around 0, temperate and salt level fine, and nitrate around 20.

About 3 weeks ago, the basset died. He was floating on the top and looked like he had been in there a couple days. They like to hide, so I had not seen him! Note to self will never get another hiding fish.

I checked levels and they were fine. Moved forward....

Couple days ago noticed my clowns were not really eating. And this morning, one was lying on the bottom. Last night he was fine. Now the second clown is not eating at all, and is starting to lay on the bottom. Checked levels this morning, all are still the same. NOTHING has changed. All I can think of is the algea that is finally growing inside the tank?

What is killing my fish? :bawling:

All thats in the tank is 2 months old and I never had live rock, I used a chemical that got rid of the new tank syndrom so all the rock was base rock. So nothing could have gotten into my tank that is unknown?

If anyone is up for a challenge to help me I would be so grateful, I appreciate it and if you need to know any other details please ask!!

·
Registered
857 Posts