The Reef Tank banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 25 gallon tank and was wondering if the refugium is necessary. I am somewhat new at the reef aquarium. I do not have any corals or anything of the sort because I got stuck with a chocolate chip starfish. he pretty cool but eventually I would like to add some corals. i have some fish now, a shrimp, and a crab as well... should I have arefugium?

Thanks!

· Premium Member
34,741 Posts
i am not a fan of refugiums. i feel they are just something else you need to maintain. they do not add any real functionality to your system. there are a lot of myths about what they do to your system, but if you understand the science behind what makes a SW tank tick, the reality is that they are not very useful and can actually go against what you could be trying to accomplish in the system itself.

if you need more elaboration, please list the benefits you thought the refugium would do for you.

G~

· Registered
546 Posts
Geoff, I'm curious what you have to say so I'll bite.

Primarily, my refugium is a secondary display for viewing pleasure. Secondly, I used it as a place for delicate species to be safe from my old aggressive fish. Third, I use it to encourage more rapid propogation of copepods and other microfauna for the purpose of feeding the green mandarin I would like to get down the road. Fourth and finally, I grow and prune a variety of macroalgae for the purpose of nutrient export. Perhaps the amount of nutrients I am actually exporting is minute, but it is just one more piece of competition for nuissance algae.

· Premium Member
7,439 Posts
if you need more elaboration, please list the benefits you thought the refugium would do for you.

G~
1. Remove phosphates
2. Remove nitrogenous wastes
3. Stabilize PH
4. Remove CO2
5. Add O2
6. Supply a natural food sourse for the display tank. A food sourse that lacks the preservatives found in most over the counter foods.