The Reef Tank banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm starting up a reef tank, and it's my first time so I wanted to make sure I don't mess anything up. I just set it up Saturday, Sept 3, and I put 2 30 lb bags of white caribbean sand, and one 20 lb bag of aragonite live sand. Then i put water from the tap into the tank and put water conditioner in it. (I don't have a water purification system YET, im currently saving up for an RO system. Then I got my salinity set, and my two filters running, I have one wet dry trickle system, and one penguin 350 biowheel filter. I let that run for about 7 hours, then I put about 70 lbs of live rock that I'm pretty sure was already cured, for I bought it from someone who used it in a reef for more than 6 months. I also added some of the saltwater that came with the rock to increase bacteria, and also added bacteria starter to the water. I have been testing it once a day, and so far my PH and nitrite levels are good, but my Ammonia levels are at 2.0 PPM. I was about to put some more conditioner in, but I wasn't sure if I should. I'm kind of stuck on what my next step would be. Should I some shrimp or snails for a cleaner package, or should I wait a couple of weeks until I get my levels evened out?

·
Registered
203 Posts
the ammonia spikes during the curing process i would give it more time and do u have a protien skimmer? and u can pick up ro system for 240 bucks 50 gallons a day with a 3.5 holding tank and if ur using tap water and ur test r good i dont c a problem

·
Registered
203 Posts
and for a 75 gallon u dont have near enough flow or filtration for that tank i would say at least 10 times ur water volume to b nice and safe.

·
xenia reef
642 Posts
Well congrats on the tank huskies, and welcome to trt!

is this your first tank ever? and yeah you should wait at least 2-3 weeks until its even safe for shrimp or fish or even corals.