The Reef Tank banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Addicted to water
1,011 Posts
I'm a newbie, but I've read that the best starfish for reefs are some types of linkias. Blues are very hard to take care of, but I think orange linkias are pretty hardy after they first acclimidate. Here's a picture:

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Display.cfm?siteid=23&pCatId=581

Like I said, I am a newbie and this is all info I've gotten throught research, but I HTH. You may want someone more expericened to give their opinion as well.

~Kayla

·
Registered
259 Posts
Mithrodia bradleyi is my favorite; I have never had a problem with it. It cruises the entire tank all the time rocks, sandbed front glass etc... If you want a starfish that is "visible and seen" 80 % of the time and is always on the move then this one is a good choice.

Now I am not guaranteeing that it is "Reef Safe" but it is a scavenger and I have softies, sps and Clams and the only thing it ever eats is and occasional dying Xenia (2 in six months), well worth it.

Heres a pic of him crusing the sandbed.

Attachments

·
Summer and Alyssa's Daddy
2,679 Posts
Mike, I read to where they could go Hannibal Lector on smaller clams, have you ever had one on top of the clams?

Ray

·
Registered
259 Posts
Yeap, all the time but it just keep on crusing... I have 6 Clams ranging from 1.5" babies to 7 " Monsters

·
Registered
259 Posts
Sand sifting stars will decimate a sand bed by eating everything in it, but yes they are considered reef safe, also... you'll never see them.

·
Summer and Alyssa's Daddy
2,679 Posts
I am still up to One in a row. However with the heating problems I am having, I am worried. So I am gonna wait till I get anymore.

Ray

·
Registered
173 Posts
SERPENT Star