The Reef Tank banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hello,

I have an Iwaki pump that is really noisy and decided I will be replacing it.

My setup. I have an auqapod 24 gallons (yeah its like a bicycle with training wheels bu I am still learning about reefs) with a 3 inch sand bed. I opened up one side of the tank so the intake is from the top of the tank to about 6 inches from the bottom. The Iwaki is the only pump in the system, pulling the water through the built in filter box then through a chiller. Its pushing about 400GPH. I don't have a powerhead in the tank because sand kept getting blown everywhere. I do water changes weekly and while I am at it, I vacum the sand bed. I have four fishes, an anemone, feather dusters and hermit crabs. I plan to add a few corals down the road.

Question. What is a good, reliable and quiet pump? I am looking at either velocity T3 or a pan world. I ruled out sequence since they are too big, sizewise. I ruled out mag because of its size also and it will not fit in the built in filter box. Is my circulation okay or do I need to add powerhead in my tank? If I need to add a pwerhead, whats good for a small tank with a sand bed?

Thank you for your help and suggestions.

·
spaceman spiff
11,769 Posts
looking external stuff, right? Anytime someone is looking for a good, reliable, quiet pump I say Eheim, and the 1262 can be used external, so that's something to consider. I'm not real familiar with the others you're discussing, but I'm sure someone will chime in.

Small powerheads to consider would be the smaller koralias (like the 1 or I think they have a nano too) or tunze nanos. The tunze are probably a bit more, but for good reason.

·
Carpe Noctem
9,817 Posts
I didn't know there was a large enough space in the aquapod for any of these pumps. I need to look at these things closer next time I'm in the store.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yes, I am referring to external pumps.