The Reef Tank banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:help:
Sorry about the stupid question people but Im very new to salt water and need to know if some things are really needed. I have a new 210g Mega flow tank Im putting together and was woundering about a few other pieces that Im not sure about. First this will be a reef tank with 200+ live rock,sand bed, full coral, shrimp,crab, and lots of different fish:peeved:. My question is about Calcium reactors. Is this an item that is 100% needed or is a dosing system just as effective? What is a Kalkwasser reactor:rolleyes:? Is there a difference between he two? Also what is a Reefugium filter? Is this for curing rock or for keeping live stock temporary? Sorry These are probally questions most of you heard already and are getting tired of answering but I just dont have faith in the LFS.

Thanks people; Bill

·
spaceman spiff
11,769 Posts
Dosing is just as a effective as the reactors, it's just more time consuming. There is a difference between the two. A calcium reactor contains some sort of hard calcium carbonate source (usually in the form of crushed coral or other media) that is dissolved by the introduction of CO2. The dissolved media then replenishes alkalinity and calcium. A kalkwasser reactor is mostly used in conjunction with an auto top-off system. It houses some sort of powdered kalk, usually calcium hydroxide, that is stirred or mixed with the auto top-off water, and then dosed to the tank.

A kalk reactor will have more of an impact on calcium, and the calcium reactor will have more of an impact on alkalinity, and both should really only be used to make up the depletion of alk and calc. If you're relying on them to raise your levels, you'll be disappointed.