The Reef Tank banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys. Im new to reefing and had a few questions. I have a 75g tank that i just switched from fresh to saltwater about 3 weeks ago. Right now im at the end of my cycle. I currently have 2 damsels and 25lbs of LR and 100lbs of live sand in the tank. I'm trying to figure out what to do about a sump and refugium. The space under my tank is only 20x20 so not much room there. I currently have a 10g tank that im using for a sump. What would your alls thoughts be to have another 10g tank drilled used for a refugium and have it overflow into the 10g sump? Anybody have luck drilling a 10g tank? I've read of success and watched videos but I tried one already with a diamond bit hole saw and it shattered like it was tempered although i dont think they are suppoed to be. Any advice for the refugium or my tank in general would be greatly appriciated.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Two tens would work great but to drill them I would just take them to a glass shop won't cost but a couple bucks and it'll be perfect

·
Premium Member
4,738 Posts
hey and welcome to trt!

ok, the first thing id do is take the damsels back to the store. not only is it cruel and unnecessary to use fish to cycle a tank, damsels will be aggressive toward any new fish you want to add. there are far more humane and easy ways to cycle a tank. if your lfs told you to do it with fish, id seriously consider finding a new lfs.

second, some questions.

what kind of water are you using? tap, ro only, ro/di? what is in the tank for water movement? is the main tank drilled or does it have a built in overflow, or are you using a hob overflow? what other filtration do you have for the tank? what are your plans for the tank? reef or fish only?