The Reef Tank banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am fairly new to the saltwater aquarium world .. Recently just got a 90g with 120# LR and 150Lbs LS..full refugium with LR, LS, and berlin red sea PS. I have 1 yellow tang, 1 clarkii clown, 2 perculas, 1 cleaner shrimp, 1 lawnmower blenny (or used to?, I moved the rocks around a little bit 3 days ago and haven't seen him since) 1 cleaner shrimp, 1 mandarin dragonet. 2 crabs which I'm not really sure what they are. I think 1 is a porcelain and the other is a small dark brown crab with 2 sm. pinchers (they came with the tank, thats why i'm not sure what they are) All fish are doing great & loving life, except maybe the blenny.. I have 2 questions for you

1.) do you think I could have crushed the blenny while moving the rocks?
2.) tried adding a pulsating xenia coral 3 days ago (even tied it to a rock with fishing line) it was a $60 piece. It made it through the first day/night fine then the next morning the largest stalk was completely gone, then the next morning the other 2 large stalks were gone and the fishing line was broke! Do you think one of these crabs is messing with it or is there something else going on? I almost feel like there is a black hole in the tank ..lol

any information anyone can provide would be great..thanks !! :beer:

·
Registered
130 Posts
You might have something eating the xenia. You should try checking your tank at night with a red lense flashlight to see if there is something eating it. I once had a white nudibranch eating away at my colt coral at night. Then in the morning id see chunks of pink floating in my tank. As for the blenny... maybe... or maybe its still hiding from shock.

·
Premium Member
8,278 Posts