The Reef Tank banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I have a 40g reef tank that I started three weeks ago. With it, I bought one of those CPR BakPAk 2 protein skimmers. I am brand new at this and I bought it on the advice of my LFS. So far I have had nothing but problems with it. It's noisy, it produces hundreds of troublesome micro bubbles per minute, and I cannot get it to skim consistently. I've tried all of the tricks that have been recommended on various websites and am about ready to move on and try something else. I need some advice on where to go from here. Should i try a different HOB skimmer such as an Octopus or a remora, or should I build a sump and use a "real" protein skimmer, or should I stick it out with the one I have and hope it will get better? Btw, I have no fish at present, just a clean up crew(I know that no fish = very little skimmate), and my tank is made of glass with no built in overflow. My LFS said that a sump is overkill for my tank size but I want a second opinion. Your advice is appreciated. :thumbup:

·
Aquatic Philosopher
15,434 Posts
Build a sump and use a an insump skimmer (octopus NWB110 would be good). Sumps help on any sized tank. The CPR Bakpak skimmers are know for those the issues you noted. It might calm down once it is broken in but it will lessen, not stop some of the issues. The noise is what it is going to be.

I would suggest Gl*******s for modifying your tank, it is an easy drilling process that makes a 40g tank look good. I have seen several 40g tanks drilled this way and all are nice.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3