The Reef Tank banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a 15 gallon and 10 gallon tank people were throwing away and I want to try to make a propogation tank out of them. I am going to try to drill them myself because I figure I could use the practice and if I ruin it, no worries. Here is my plan I drew up, not exact but can some of you plumbing and stuff experts let me know if that looks right?

Also, where can I buy acrylic to make the overflows and stuff, and the correct silicon to seal it up?

Attachments

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Toad! I forgot to mention the first time that I have never done anything like this before w/ plumbing, so if it is embarrassingly wrong, don't feel bad about telling me, I won't be offended at all.

·
Registered
479 Posts
Hey Matt - Just a reminder - see if you can ask the people that were throwing the tanks out if they ever medicated them.....check for copper residue before loading in any corals........ just some food for thought.....

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I thaught of that, the people have moved and I can't get ahold of them... I am pretty sure they were freshwater setups and I don't think they were exposed to copper, but I do need to make sure of that...

·
Registered
3,074 Posts
i'd fill the tanks with water.. let them sit a few days. and pick up a copper test kit. jsut to be sure.

as for the plan, looks cool to me.

what did yo uuse to draw the plans? i really want to find some simple drawing program like that for working out my tank and hood designs. paint shop pro and photoshop are jsut not cut out for that sort of thing.. but what yo uused looks nice.. is it a hard/expensive program? can ya shoot me the name?

·
Premium Member
34,435 Posts
i think it looks pretty good.