The Reef Tank banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
3 days ago I purchased a small three prong "candy cane" coral and a small live rock with a few brown/green mushrooms. I have a 30 gallon eclipse with no skimmer only a carbon filter and bio wheel, I have a combo day light with actinic (10000 and 420 respectively) pushing at 65 watts.

My tank has been stable for some time everything is tesing good with my test strips and my salinity is dead on and my temp is 77-78.

The tank was aquired from a freind so I am new to the hobby but inherited a stable tank (~4 years old) containing 1 clown, 3 small damsels, some live rock and snails and a sandsifting starfish.....since then have added an anoneme and clown, an emerald crab, 2 ricordea, small patch of button polyps and the candy cane and shrooms over the course of about 4 weeks.

Sorry just trying to give proper background....the coral and mushrooms look weak and frail compared to what they looked like when I brought thnem home...to my untrained eye they look like they are about to die. Everything else looks fine.

Any ideas on what is wrong...any input is appreciated....and so is your patience with my novice vocabulary.

sincerely Xnorm

·
Premium Member
8,278 Posts
I see I missed some of the info LOL
gonna hafta give us a whole slew of information such as but not limited too:

tank size
where does your water come from
how often do you change your water and how much water
Skimmer?
lights?
powerheads or pumps for flow?
sand?
rock?
how long has tank been set up?
any fish or inverts?
water parameters such as
ammonia
nitrite
nitrate
ph
kh
temp
salinity

sorry so many questions but tanks are complicated

·
Premium Member
8,278 Posts
Hi all,