The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Members!

Please post a little about yourself and your reef/marine system here so that we can all get to know you better!
:worm:

Remember, if you would like to post commercial advertisements for services or products (reef/marine or other) you may post these in the "Members Only" forum.
:fish:

Thanks! Please keep posting and starting new threads here.
:nuts:

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
My Bio

I have been reefing since 1999 when I set up my first tank, a 300 gallon mixed reef tank. Around 2 years ago the system was converted from an "under the tank" type water filtration/movement system to a remote fishroom in my garage that includes a 150 gallon sump, 50 gallon refugium and a 30 gallon frag tank. My equipment includes a Tenecor 300 gallon acrylic tank, ASM-G6 skimmer, MRC 2-chamber calcium reactor, Sequence Hammerhead main return pump, 4 Tunze 6100 pumps for flow, DIY automatic top-off system, DIY automatic X-10 controlled water change system, Aquadyne Octopus 3000 Controller and DIY internet control/monitoring system. I use a deep sand bed (DSB) with live rock for natural filtration in addition to heavy skimming.

I only have fish, anemones, and a few LPS in my tank now since I had some problems over the last year including acro-eating flatworms....you do not want to get these pests in your system.... and an ozone overdose .:lol:

My whole system has been acro free for a few months and I plan to start restocking acros in June/July.:thumbup: In the meantime I have re-aquascaped my tank, designed and built custom acrylic overflows and plan to install new Luminarc III reflectors to try and maximize lighting reaching my tank in order to cut my electrical costs by eliminating 2 of my old MH lamps.

I also enjoy scuba diving, golf, snowboarding, and playing pool on my new pool table.