The Reef Tank banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I have what might be a stupid questions. Please excuse me because i am still kind of new to this.

I just set up my new protein skimmer. I got the coralife super skimmer. Now my question to everyone is...... where should the bubbles be in the collection cup? In the instructions it says to have the microbubbles 1/4 inch up the cone. sounds good to me, but my question is is does this mean the top of all of the bubbles, or the area where the small bubbles build up on top of the rest of the water, about 1" down from the top of the bubbles. I hope that made some kind of sense to anyone because i dont know how else to explain it. I hope i'm setting this up right because it would be pointless to have a skimmer that wasnt working.

Second question is about ich. Recently i had had a regal angel who had had ich, and i lost him through stupidity. Now, i noticed that one of my clowns was breathing heavily and through the knowledge of this forum we diagnosed him with ich as well. My question is, how the hell do i get it out of my tank. I have inverts, so medication is out. What else can i do? Will they recover if i let it continue on them? I have a UV light, but hvent replaced the bulb in two years. I am going to replace the bulb tomorrow and hope that that can keep this undercontrol. any advice would be much appreciated.

thanks everyone

·
Registered
363 Posts
If you know someone who will hold the inverts for you, I'd lower the salinity in the tank to get rid of the ich.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
the UV bulb is a good start, also if you can I would get a cleaner shrimp, they will clean the ich from the fish. Does the fish have white dots on its body?