The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright,
so I have my ampmaster plumbed up (Closed Loop), but I am thinking I might be restricting the output a little too much. Here's what is happening. I have 1.5" out of the AM3K to a T fitting where it reduces to 2 1" lines. One of the lines runs into the tank, the other splits to 2 1" lines, each into the tank. I run all of them wide open (3 1" outputs in the tank). If I open the output of the AM3K all the way I get microbubbles in the tank out of the closed loop. If I restrict the output of the AM3K slightly I get no bubbles, but some occational noise out of the pump.

Any ideas on this? Would changing the first T from 2 1" outs to 1 1" out and 1 1.5" out help?

I'm at a loss here, and I really don't want to ruin the pump.

Thanks for the help everyone.
-Reed

·
Registered
3,074 Posts
hmm only thing i can think of off hand is that it's pulling in air from somewhere. maybe on of the t's has a micro leak, that is sucking air in when it's opened all the way?

i've never plumbed a cls yet, so i could be way off base, just taking a stab in the dark.

·
Premium Member
34,435 Posts
Jay has the most likely cause. if there is a micro leak you have for all intensive purposes made a DIY venturi valve.:D

another possibility is that when it is wide open the flow is so great that at the intake small funnels from the surface could be created. you would prolly see a lot more bubbles if this were the case though.

i would check for leaks.

G~

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
DOH! I was hoping that wasn't the feedback I'd get. But then again, the truth is never fun. I will check for leaks in the plubing, as the intakes are down near the middle of the tank & I see no way they could introduce air into the lines.

Thanks guys, really appreciate it.

-Reed

·
Registered
706 Posts