The Reef Tank banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am completely new to salt water tanks but I had an idea that could save me, and potentially make me money with DIY live rock. I have actually never done a SW aquarium before but I have been researching (obsessing) for a while now and feel like I have learned enough to get a biocube 29 and at least start cycling it. The time it takes to cycle is just more time to read up on these forums and do more research. Anyway, I was wondering if I could save money by buying a few lbs of live rock and seed it to some DIY rock (GARF method) in a gallon bucket. I drew up a VERY crude plan of how I could do this. Once I establish my tank this can be a constant side project that produces more and more live rock for me at little cost.

PLAN:
Create a self sustaining system that will seed DIY rock (portland cement and crushed coral) so that I will have a constant supply of new live rock.

The gallon bucket has 3 drilled holes in it.
The first is a drain at the bottom with a ball valve so I can do a quick water swap.
The second is an outlet to pump water out of the bucket, and then back in the top wall through the 3rd hole. (This will keep the water oxygenated)

The live rock and homemade rock will fill the bucket up half way.

The pump will be located near the bottom to ensure proper water circulation to rocks near the bottom.

The lid will be transparent so that a light, perhaps CFL, will provide energy to photosynthetic organisms.

Also a heater will need to go in it (which I forgot to include in the drawing)

Any suggestions on this idea? Also, how long does it take for the new rock to become "live" and tank ready?

If this works it would save me A BUNCH of money on LR. Who wants to pay 10 bucks a lb when you can make it for a fraction of the cost. Perhaps even sell the new rock back to LFS??

Attachments

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·