The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
This water tastes salty
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this and am in the process of getting everything set-up, I want to paint the back of the tank black, any reccomendations as to what type of paint to use??

·
This water tastes salty
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the welcome, I am from ft. wayne area. Tank plans 75 gallon main tank, with a 25-30 gallon sump/refugium, asm g3 skimmer, thought about a fowlr system at first slowly switching to reef(maybe) or just start out as reef , unsure on lighting choices currently, want to go ahead and get the lighting required for the reef setup either way, but not sure on requirements(as far as wattage), and whether i want to get MH or PC lighting. Any help in that area?? I like softies, frog spawn, pipe organ?? Not familiar with all the sps, lps, softie names.

·
Retired Wanderer
17,271 Posts
I used enamel and a disposal black foam brush. The tank was eight inches from the wall so just did in in place. I used a satin black and it came out great in three heavy coats.

My prep was wiping it down with a rag soaked in white vinegar and so far it is just great.

The little can and the brush cost under five bucks.

·
This water tastes salty
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
thanks for the info fishnoob, seems like i can use whatever i want?? enamel/acrylic if i just coat it heavy enough. Any opinions on a black spray paint then?? as long as eveything is masked off so none gets in the tank.

·
Retired Wanderer
17,271 Posts
Acrylic will peel off easily...I would use an enamel. Mine was just an outdoor grade in a little can at the do it center that sticks to metal. It worked out great. This was done with the water in the tank and everything close to the wall and all I did was lay an old blanket on the ground as a drop cloth.

I tried to scrape a little off after it hardened with my fingernail and it is on there.