The Reef Tank banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I moved my Maxima from the sand bed to a nice ledge yesterday. Upon second glance when arriving from work, I was concerned that it would get knocked off. Well I picked it up and didn't feel any resistance but the clam had attached it's self to the rock work. Obviously it was happy where it was and now I fear it may be messed up. There were a couple of strands hanging from it and left on the rock. It has opened up today but I am concerned that it will go down hill. What should I do? Is it going to die over time? Since it's in the sand bed now, should I move it back to the place I had moved it from?? I am not an expert with the clams but I have 3 now. Any advice would be great.

·
Premium Member
18,603 Posts
Ouch you shouldnt have done that,now all you can do is hope for the best I wouldnt touch him again.:)

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks for the reply. I am afraid that he will not get enough light in the DSB. Are you sure that I should't move it back? It looked alot happier on the rock work closer to the lights. My fear was it getting knocked over. Now that I know he would attach himself i am not as concerned about that now. I understand that you said not to move it but I fear that he won't get enough light.

Also when you want to move your clam what should you do?

·
Premium Member
18,603 Posts
go ahead and move him back to the rock and leave him alone :)
Put a small shell under him that he can attach to,so you can move him:)

·
Registered
126 Posts