The Reef Tank banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to the Reef world and have been a little to aggresive on adding critters. We started off with a 30gal salt that we had up and running for about a month and a half with no problems. We decided it wasn't big enough and decided to upgrade and are now running a 90gal bow front. It has a sump with a protein skimmer and about 50lbs live rock. We moved the contents of the 30 gallon to the 90 gallon and were under the impression that the tank wouldn't cycle again since we already had bacteria so we started adding critters. Currently in the tank, we have 2 anenomies, 4 small coral frags, a yellow tang, 2 percula clowns, 3 yellow tail blue damsels, 2 green chromis, 1 mandarin, 2 gobbies, and 1 skunk cleaner shrimp. Everyone seems happy active and eating. The problem is we had ordered some fish another coral and a reef safe star fish from Dr. Fosters and Smith thinking our levels were good, they are due to arrive today. Our current levels are pH 8.2, ammonia 0.1, nitrate 2, nitrite 1, salinity 1.027. We are planning on doing drip aclimation over 1-2 hours. We are most worried about the starfish because we heard they are very sensative to the wrong numbers.

My question is: How do I get my numbers down. Should I do a water change? The starfish likes salinity of 1.023-1.025, is 1.027 to high and how should I get the salt down I was thinking of doig a 10gallon water change and adding half the salt back in that is required.

I know its a lot to ask, and I know I've been to eager on getting this set up going. But I would appreciate any input.
Thanks -Spencer

·
Fuzzy Stick Crazy
7,319 Posts
Welcome to TRT. That is a lot of stock for a 1 month old tank, even for a 90. Do you know anyone that can hold your new livestock for a bit so you can work the numbers out?