The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new to saltwater (in fact I don't have a saltwater tank yet) but I've run freshwater tanks for years. I currently have a 55 gallon long (48x13x18?) and a 20 gallon tall (13x13x18?) but I'm looking to get into saltwater. I have room for one more aquarium, but it would have to be small (I'm looking at the Coralife Biocube 14g) or I can convert one of my existing aquariums. I currently work at a fish store so buying living "supplies" isn't really an issue as I can get those very cheap. I absolutey want to have a reef tank, but if price limits me to it for a while I can do FOWLR... Which option would be the easiest to set up (converting the 55, converting the 20, or starting a new biocube) and which would be the cheapest? Oh, the fish currently in the aquariums are of no consequence as I can give them to the fish store I work at if I can't keep them and move them to the other tank otherwise. Thank you for any input.

·
Registered
1,709 Posts
If you work in a fish store wouldn't you be the best person to know what route would be the cheapest and easiest for you to do?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If you work in a fish store wouldn't you be the best person to know what route would be the cheapest and easiest for you to do?
Actually I only work with freshwater fish in the store. We sell saltwater fish but there's another employee who handles all of that. We also sell coral, live rock, live sand, other aquarium supplies, and I can purchase those much cheaper in the store than online or at other stores. I still have no idea what to do here.

·
Premium Member
6,340 Posts
Smaller is always cheaper. And the 14 gallon is also an all-in-one (AIO) tank so it comes with most everything you need for a basic reef. You would have to buy pumps and lights for any tank you convert which can get expensive.