The Reef Tank banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

so I'm still in the early research faze of having a reef tank, and I've been reading a lot of the forums and blogs on here and have learned a lot of stuff already in the last few days that I have been here.

One thing that I can't seem to find is an actual list of what I would need to start a tank. For a beginner what would you recommend?

I am a novice at this and when I say novice I mean barely made a scratch on the surface of this new hobby. So lamens terms if you please.

Sarah

·
Premium Member
9,623 Posts
Welcome to TRT Sarah!!!

Some of the basic stuff you will need are as followed.

Test Kit
Hydrometer (for getting your specific Gravity or SG)
Heater
Protein Skimmer
Power Head/s
good Light
I am probably for getting some things, but this is a good start for you. I would Recommend you ask questions on each of the listed items.

Also I would recommend you read this thread-
Reefkeeping made easy- what was not explained.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well I have a 10g but I know that nano's are a lot harder to manage so I'm looking to go bigger probably 30 or so.

·
Premium Member
9,623 Posts
Your welcome, if you go with a nano many choose not to run a skimmer. But being that this will be your first tank I would recommend a 30 or bigger. The problem with Nano's is that when things go wrong they do so very fast.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I'm a new marine keeper

Hi Sarha

I'm new 2 all this as well been running a 400lts tank for about 6-7 weeks now and really going well.

Back to you.

Set your budget.

What do you want to keep

find the correct spot where you want to put the tank and that will sort the size out make sure you allow lots of air flow around it.

Remember when your buying you have to purchase things to change water so that means another heater more salt another bucket temp monitor and so on.