The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the hobby and just purchased a 75 gallon from a girl who was moving. It was full of green algae when I got it, however I rinsed the rocks and cleaned it up pretty good. It has been set up at the new location for about 4 days and that algae is starting to come back strong. My water parameters are all fine, so whats next? Currently the tank has no "cleanup crew" except for a couple of sandworms. I don't think that there will be any real die off because I kept the rock in good clean saltwater while moving. Also, I made the mistake of using a playsand that contains silicates for most of my substrate, and used some of the stuff from the old one. Now I'm starting to see the brown algae (cyano?) on the rocks and powerheads. Do I need to cycle the tank or purchase some snails and crabs? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I haven't been running my MH at all, just the actinics.

·
Registered
679 Posts
Congrats on the set up. You might not get much of a cycle as far as ammonia but you will get stages of algae. Look into "cooking" your rock. It will save you a lot of trouble long term. Also using RODI water and a skimmer will help.

·
Registered
941 Posts
If you have green hair algea, it is best to scrub the rocks that have it to free them of the long hairy algea. Check the nitites to see if you have them, if so, all inverts will probably die if you add them. I would change the sand to a reef sand, Fiji Pink or Oceans Direct both from Caribi Sea.
A phosphate reactor will help long term, and alot of carbon and NO LIGHT will also be a plus.