The Reef Tank banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:funny: Hi I am new to the hobby and live in SE MN trying to get either a OCEANIC 70-90 gallon bowfront reef tank going. Any advice on where to get stuff? I went to WOF and they have an OCEANIC truckload sale this weekend?????????
I am reading like crazy. Kind of overwhelmed but getting used to terms like skimmer, sump, halide, etc. Hopefully getting a good deal on live rock that is cured from someone locally.

I have had a community tropical fish aquarium for about 20 years of my life and it is time to upgrade. I am an avid SCUBA diver so am looking forward to having some marine critters especially hermit crabs. (I am nuts I know)

Thanks for reading and please send me any helpful tips you guys have. I have joined a local marine club here which should help.

·
TCMAS Member
5,667 Posts
When buying a tank, you really want to get one that is drilled. They usually refer to them as reef ready. While non-drilled is common for freshwater tanks, it doesn't make for a good saltwater tank ( it can be done just not ideal ). Once the tank is already setup, then deciding you want a drilled tank makes it more difficult to retrofit so just start out with a drilled tank. This way all your hardware doesn't have to hang off the back such as skimmers etc. Makes for a cleaner look, increases oxygen exchange just to name a few benefits.