The Reef Tank banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I am rather new to this hobby. (only been doing the reef side of it since January). I have previously done fish only tanks so this is a bit of a challenge at times. Slowly getting the tank populated and was told of swapping done in these clubs. I would be very interested in finding more items to put in my reef.

I dont think I have anything in my tank right now that you all dont have an abundance of however for a swap. I am currently running a 55 gal tank with a small assortment of hardy corals to get me started. I would be interested to know where you all get your supplies as well as good coral stores around the metro area, I live in Mcminnville, that could help me in this hobby.

Thank you all in advance for your input. I tell ya I have only been doing this for several months but it is very addicting. Now my challenge is finding a place in my home for a larger tank.

·
Nemo's Chamber Boy
4,539 Posts
aye there are several folks who have things growing in weed proportions in their tanks. if you can get in on a couple meetings you should be able to start getting some livestock trades going.

for good coral prices and selection you should check out woody's stuff up in north east portland. he has some very nice stuff at very fair prices.

also i have gotten some good deals on stuff down at waves in lake oswego.

i have gotten some really nice stuff over at soutas. rick's prices are not low per say, but he generally has some of the better stuff available in the hobby species wise, and everything i have ever gotten from him has thrived as he is very careful what distributors he purchases stuff from. all of his fish are from non cyanide collectors, which is nice assurance when you are preparing to plunk down some dough on an expensive fish.