The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
<!-- / icon and title --><!-- message -->I have a 90 gallon tall tank that has always been fresh. I have always wanted to switch to salt but i am a little scared. I have heard it is a lot more work than fresh water. I stopped in to Petco the other day and talked to a guy there (sorry didn't catch his name) but he seemed pretty knowledgable and gave me this website.

So i guess what i'm leading to is .....HELP!!!!!!...i don't even know where to begin!

p.s. remember, i'm totally new at this and need everything in layman's terms...i.e. i have no idea what a frag is!!

Thanks Mel

·
Premium Member
17,355 Posts
Welcome to The Reef Tank.

A good place to start, check out some of the stuff Tim has been editing for a FAQ section

btw, Tim, I guess I now have time to work on some of this stuff... :rolleyes:

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i would like a little of both. my 90g is so tall that i figure i could build a really cool reef. but i definitly want some fish too. i really was getting bored with my FW fish so i am excited to try something new.

any recommendations for a beginner would be great!

·
Registered
575 Posts
conversion said:
i would like a little of both. my 90g is so tall that i figure i could build a really cool reef. but i definitly want some fish too. i really was getting bored with my FW fish so i am excited to try something new.

any recommendations for a beginner would be great!
I think the first thing is research, lots of it. Read up, Ask here, know exactly what you want before you start purchasing things. Otherwise you will be spending more later to fix what you did in the beginning.