The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
515 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, this is my first time on this site. It seems to have a lot of activity. I have been to other sites that are kinda hot and cold. I hope this one is good.

So the real reason I'm posting is because Some of mt sps has been bleaching on me. It is a 65 gallon reef tank with a refugium. I have 2 150w 20,000K Hqi lamps and 2 65w actinic PC's. I also drip kalk very slowly all day long. The refugium lights come on when the tank lights go out. I have had the tank going for almost 2 years. Just recently some stuff started to bleach, which was odd because everything tests fine and I haven't added anything new in 6 months or more. The worst part is I lost some colonies that I had been growing from frags for well over a year. But I guess it just happens sometimes. Now I just want to know what is wrong so I can fix it. Does anyone have ant suggestions?

I tried to post some photo's but it said I couldn't because I didn't have enough posts yet. I will just have to wait until i reach 20 posts lol.

·
Premium Member
11,736 Posts
:wavey: Welcome to TRT!!!

How long has the bleaching been going on? Has anything different happened in the system? Perhaps adding more Kalk than you used to? What are you current calcium, alkalinity, and magnesium levels at? Have you changed bulbs recently?

You are not able to post a picture; however, you can attach a picture to your post. If you use the Go Advanced button and then click on Manage Attachments it will allow you to select the picture you want to attach.

Hopefully some of the sps keeping population will chime in soon with some more ideas on things for you to look at as well.

·
Registered
515 Posts
Discussion Starter #3