The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!!
So I've recently decided to change my 55 gallon cichlid tank into a saltwater tank! So I'm a real newbie!! I've purchased the salt and the lights so far, just waiting to get rid of my (few) cichlids that I have! So my first question is

Do i need to add in new water with salt, or can I just add the salt to my original water?

Second question is, I would like to eventually have this as a reef tank, and I already bought the lights and it uses 2 50w lights, will that be enough lighting?

Can I add in the live sand immediately? And how long do I have to wait until I can add some live rock, and also is it one pound of live rock per gallon?

For filtration I will be probably running a aquaclear 110, and a fluval canister 404, with a powerhead... will that be enough?
I don't plan on using a skimmer just because the tank we have at work does not use one and its been successfully running for over a year now. But any opinions on this is appreciated!!

These are the fish I like, but not sure if it would work and how many I can have in a 55 gallon, I know I'm probably quite limited.
clownfish

Spotted or Bangaii cardinals
multicolour angelfish
tail spot blenny
six line wrasse
dispar anthias
royal gramma basslet
yellow tang (or any other tang that could possibly work)
black and white chromis

corals, I don't really know much about (if you have any info on them please share!!) but these are some that I like:

Purple, blue, pink, brown Zoanthids
Green Palythoa
Purple Clove Polyps
Xenia
colt coral
Pipe Organ
Toadstool Leather
Purple Mushrooms
Hairy Mushroom
Yuma Ricordea

and then I would like to have at an anemone, not sure what would be best!

I'm very new to saltwater, and I would love to learn and have help with this!

Thank you!! :fish:

·
125 Gallon Tank
1,932 Posts
welcome to TRT